Coles County LEPC

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Illinois Emergency Management Agency

Ready Illinois

LEPC Bylaws

LEPC Meetings

The Coles County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), was organized to fulfill the requirements of the federal regulations regarding Title III of the Superfund Amendment and Reauthorization Act (SARA) of 1986 and to address the public safety concerns of industry and the community regarding hazardous materials. The LEPC is the local body that handles emergency planning and community right-to-know reporting on hazardous and toxic chemicals.

The Coles County LEPC is comprised of representatives from County and City departments, industry representatives, and community members. Within Coles County there are several Tier II facilities, including those that are considered Extremely Hazardous Substance (EHS) facilities. Coles County LEPC documents include reports, facility information , and hazard information and is under the supervision of the Coles County Emergency Management Agency.

The LEPC welcomes inquiries from public and industry as well as other interested parties.

Mission Statement: The mission of the Coles County Local Emergency Planning Committee is to enhance the protection of the community and the environment from hazardous materials incidents and natural disasters through planning, preparation, and communication between citizens, businesses and the government.

It is not and never has been the intent of the LEPC to be a local regulatory, enforcement, permitting, or policy making body or agency. Further, the LEPC shall not be placed in a position to interfere with the permitting process of the State of Illinois.

Helpful Links

Hazardous Materials Incident Reports
Tier II Hazardous Chemical Reports
Tier II 302 Reports (newly acquired EHS chemicals
IEMA's FOIA webpage

Local Weather


LEPC members and organizations

Elected State & Local Officials

Law Enforcement

Tim Gover, Mayor of Mattoon City of Mattoon   EIU Police Department
Jeffrey Lahr, City Commissioner City of Charleston Brian Huston, Lt. Coles County Sheriff's Office
    Sam Gaines, Asst. Chief Mattoon Police Department

First Aid


Steve Bennett, Chief Charleston Fire & Rescue Sean Junge, Asstistant Chief** Mattoon Fire Department
Valerie Goodwin Coles County American Red Cross Disaster Services Tim Meister Charleston Fire & Rescue



Joe Fehrenbacher** Sarah Bush Lincoln Health Center Gloria Spear** Coles County Health Department
    Mara Hildebrand Coles County Health Department

Emergency Management


Dan Ensign, Coordinator Coles County ESDA    
Jim Hilgenberg Coles County Emergency Management Agency

Local Environment

Broadcast / Print Media

Kiley Willison Village of Oakland
Rob Stroud

Journal Gazette-Times Courier

Community Groups

Owners/ Operators of Regulated Facilities

Christina Miller Coles County Inner Agency
Steve Skidmore KOCH Nitrogen Co., LLC  

**LEPC Executive Board:

Sean Junge, President
Joe Fehrenbacher, Vice President
Gloria Spear, Secretary

LEPC 2016 Meetings:

March 3 9:00 Life Span Center Auditorium
June 2 9:00 Life Span Center Auditorium
September 1 9:00 Life Span Center Auditorium
November 3 11:30 Airport Steakhouse


Committee Chair Members
Executive Sean Junge Joe Fehrenbacher
Dan Ensign
Gloria Spear
Right to Know and Public Education Information Valerie Goodwin Gloria Spear
Jeff Lahr
Rob Stroud
Christina Miller
Chemical Facilities Liaison and Emergency Response & Resource Steve Skidmore Steve Bennett
Brian Huston
Jim Hilgenberg
Spontaneous Volunteers Pat Goodwin Valerie Goodwin
Dan Ensign
Steve Bennett
Sean Junge
By-Law   Sean Junge
Jeff Lahr
Gloria Spear
Christina Miller

Spontaneous Volunteers
Right to Know & Public Education

For problems or questions regarding this Web site contact
Last updated: 09/19/18.